Exoplanets and Planet Formation

11-15 December 2017

Shanghai, China

This international conference is devoted to the astrophysics of exoplanets. Among the more than 5000 exoplanets and candidates discovered so far are many extreme systems that are quite unlike our own solar system. Understanding these exoplanets, in conjunction with protoplanetary disks and the solar system planets, can provide new insights into the structure, formation and evolution of planetary systems.

The conference will consist of invited/solicited talks (mostly chosen from submitted abstracts) and posters. While all topics (observation and theory) of exoplanetary science are welcome, a general theme is planetary formation and evolution. To this end, related topics on protoplanetary disks and solar system planets will also be covered.

Preliminary Registration

Key Dates and Schedule


Links to the tourist website:

Shanghai Travel Guide   Suzhou Travel Guide   Hangzhou Travel Guide


  • Isabelle Baraffe (Exeter)
  • Willy Benz (Bern)
  • Eugene Chiang (Berkeley)
  • Debra Fischer (Yale)
  • Jian Ge (Florida)
  • Tristan Guillot (OCA)
  • Heather Knutson (Caltech)
  • Dong Lai, Co-Chair (Cornell)
  • Doug Lin (UCSC)
  • Jonathan Lunine (Cornell)
  • Renu Malhotra (Arizona)
  • Shude Mao (Tsinghua)
  • Karin Oberg (Harvard)
  • Fred Rasio (Northwestern)
  • Re'em Sari (Jerusalem)
  • Scott Tremaine (IAS)
  • Josh Winn, Co-Chair (Princeton)
  • Yanqin Wu (Toronto)
  • JiLin Zhou (Nanjing)

3D campus view.


  • Subo Dong (KIAA)
  • Jianghui Ji (PMO)
  • Yipeng Jing (SJTU)
  • Xiaoqun Wang (TDLI)